Celebration for Tourism in Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly

By Cornwall Tourism Awards - 01st March 2021

The Winners in the 2020/21 Cornwall Tourism Awards have been announced during an emotional and dramatic online Awards Day.

In an innovative awards day hosted over five sessions by Daphne Skinnard and Robin Barker on Thursday 25 February this year’s Winners in the Cornwall Tourism Awards have been announced.

The online event saw 74 awards presented in 27 categories with a final surprise ‘Outstanding Contribution to Tourism’ award being the final announcement. It was the culmination of an 11 month programme that started in March 2020 with entrants judged on a combination of their entry submissions, digital presence, reviews and external evidence.

A surprise award went to Martin Barlow, owner of the Budock Vean Hotel, winning the prestigious Outstanding Contribution Award, whilst Watergate Bay’s Ben Harper took the award for Business Leader. Amongst the other top winners was Landal Gwel an Mor, winning Gold for Holiday Park of the Year as well as awards for Access, Small Attraction, Spa and Wellbeing, and Wedding Venue.  Sara’s Cottage was another multiple winner picking up golds for Access and Self Catering, whilst Mullion Cove Hotel and Spa took gold for Small Hotel and Carlyon Bay Hotel the gold for Large Hotel. The Old Embassy House took the gold for B&B and Guesthouse of the Year with Polmanter Touring Park and Ekopod taking the final two accommodation golds for touring park and glamping.

The Cornish Seal Sanctuary showed its further improvements taking gold in both the Wildlife Friendly and Dog Friendly categories with Paradise Park also taking two golds for Large Visitor Attraction and Experience of the Year. The Shipwreck Treasure Museum took the Small Attraction gold, with Treseren winning gold for Wedding Venue and St Moritz Hotel gold for Tourism Innovation. It was good to see Falmouth Oyster Festival 2019 taking the gold for tourism event of the year and Visit Newquay Tourist Information the gold for Visitor Information.

Food and drink businesses were also recognised with Teacup Tearoom winning gold for Café/Tearoom of the Year, The Pandora Inn for Pub of the Year (for the 4th year running) and Bango Kitchen the gold for Restaurant and Casual Dining.

Prestigious golds also went to The Sanctuary Cornwall for Ethical, Responsible and Sustainable Tourism, and to Cove24 Restaurant and Bar in the New Tourism Business category.

The Awards also recognised five ‘Unsung Heroes’ who had gone above and beyond during 2020.  These were Gary Zammit of Feadon Wildlife Centre, Kim Spencer of SECTA, Patrick Trembath of PK Porthcurno, Robert Hawkins of Martha’s Orchard and Sally Pickles from The Bowgie Inn.

The 19th year of the competition has been run in unprecedented times for tourism, but the focus on excellence and feedback for entrants has remained as relevant as ever.

Awards organizer Robin Barker of Services for Tourism saidIt would have been very easy to cancel the Awards this year – we did think long and hard about it, but the level of early entries we received in spite of everything, and the creativity and determination shown by entrants inspired us to find a way to make this happen – and your responses and feedback ever since have completely blown us away. The reactions from today’s winners including words such as “overwhelmed”, “heartwarning” and “moments of sparkle” have made it all worthwhile.”

Deborah Heather of headline sponsors Quality in Tourism says: “I’ve just spent an amazing day with the awe-inspiring tourism industry of Cornwall. They go from strength to strength each year. We are so proud at Quality in Tourism to be headline sponsor of the Cornwall Tourism Awards. I am humbled by and optimistic because of these industry leaders.”

Malcolm Bell, Head of VisitCornwall, comments: “In what has been an extraordinary year for Cornwall it is refreshing to have something for our excellent tourism businesses to celebrate.  Many congratulations to everyone for your ongoing investments in excellence.”

All of the winners will be automatically considered for the regional South West Tourism Excellence Awards later in the year as well as receiving feedback from the judging process.  The 2021/22 awards are planned to be launched in April.

 

2020/2021 CORNWALL TOURISM AWARDS - FULL LIST
WINNERS & COMMENDED (in alphabetic order)

Sponsored by Quality in Tourism, qualityintourism.com

 

ACCESSIBLE AND INCLUSIVE TOURISM AWARD
sponsored by Jarrang, jarrang.com  

Gold

Sara’s Cottage, Truro, sarascottage.co.uk @SarasCottage

Silver

Landal Gwel an Mor Resort, Portreath, gwelanmor.com @LandalGwelanMor

Bronze

Harrods Cornish Cottages, Penhallow, harrods-cornwall.co.uk

 

B&B AND GUESTHOUSE OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Worldpay
 fisglobal.com/en-gb/merchant-solutions-worldpay

Gold

Old Embassy House, Fowey oldembassyhouse.co.uk @OldEmbassy

Silver

Trewornan Manor, Wadebridge trewornanmanor.co.uk @Trewornanmanor

Bronze

Wingletang Guest House, Isles of Scilly, wingletangguesthouse.co.uk

 

BUSINESS LEADER OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Be theBusiness, bethebusiness.com

·         Ben Harper - Watergate Bay Hotel, watergatebay.co.uk @WatergateBay

 

CAFÉ/TEAROOM OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Cornish Tea and Coffee, cornish-tea.co.uk

Gold

Teacup Tearoom, Mevagissey, teacuptearoom.com, @teacup_tearoom

Silver

The Thirstea Co, Portscatho, thethirsteacompany.co.uk @ThethirsteaCo

 

CAMPING AND CARAVANNING PARK OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Stephens Scown solicitors, stephens-scown.co.uk

Gold

Polmanter Touring Park, St Ives, polmanter.com @PolmanterStIves

Silver

Mena Farm: Touring, Camping, Glamping, Bodmin, menafarm.co.uk @MenaFarmCamping

Bronze

Treloy Touring Park, Newquay, treloy.co.uk @treloytouring

 

DOG FRIENDLY BUSINESS OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Forthglade, forthglade.com

Gold

The Cornish Seal Sanctuary, Gweek, sealsanctuary.sealifetrust.org, @Seal_Sanctuary

Silver

Kernock Cottages, Saltash, kernockcottages.com @KernockCottages

Bronze

Gwelmor Holiday Home, Bude, gwelmor.com, @gwelmor

Hut and Hound, St Austell, hutandhound.co.uk

Teacup Tearoom, Mevagissey, teacuptearoom.com, @teacup_tearoom

 

ETHICAL, RESPONSIBLE & SUSTAINABLE TOURISM AWARD
sponsored by South West Water, southwestwater.co.uk

Gold

The Sanctuary Cornwall, Golant, thesanctuarycornwall.co.uk @SanctuaryCornwl

Silver

Camp Kernow, Truro, campkernow.org.uk @CampKernow

Bronze

Mother Ivey’s Bay Holiday Park, Padstow, motheriveysbay.com @MotherIveysBay

 

EXPERIENCE OF THE YEAR (ACTIVE OR LEARNING)
sponsored by Pear Communications, pearcommunications.org

Gold

Paradise Park – Red Panda Experience, Hayle, paradisepark.org.uk @CornishParadise

Silver

Paddle Cornwall SUP, Golant, paddlecornwallsup.co.uk @paddlecornwallsup

Bronze

Bare Feet Coasteer, Newquay, barefeetcoasteer.com @nickewebb

 

GLAMPING BUSINESS OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Jo Downs Handmade Glass, jodowns.com

Gold

Ekopod, Launceston, ekopod.co.uk

Silver

Wych Elm Glamping, Coverack, wychelmyurts.co.uk

 

HOLIDAY PARK OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Stephens Scown solicitors, stephens-scown.co.uk

Gold

Landal Gwel an Mor Resort, Portreath, gwelanmor.com @LandalGwelanMor

Silver

Martha’s Orchard, Constantine Bay, marthasorchard.co.uk @MarthasOrchard

Commended

Bude Holiday Resort, Bude, ariaresorts.co.uk @ariaresortsuk

Retallack Resort & Spa, St Column Major, ariaresorts.co.uk @ariaresortsuk

Trelawne Manor Holiday Park, Looe, trelawnemanor.co.uk @TrelawneManor

 

INTERNATIONAL TOURISM AWARD
sponsored by Cornwall Airport Newquay, cornwallairportnewquay.com

Gold

Cornwall Plus, Falmouth, cornwall-plus.co.uk @Cornwall_Plus

Silver

Travel England Tours Ltd, travelenglandtours.com, @TetTours

 

LARGE HOTEL OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Hotel Perfect, hotelperfect.co.uk

Gold

Carlyon Bay Hotel, St Austell, carlyonbay.com @CarlyonBayHotel

Silver

Budock Vean Hotel, Mawnan Smith, budockvean.co.uk @BudockVeanHotel

Bronze

Fowey Hall Hotel, Fowey, foweyhallhotel.co.uk @foweyhall

Commended

Polurrian on the Lizard, Mullion, polurrianhotel.com @PolurrianHotel

 

LARGE VISITOR ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR
sponsored by The Isles of Scilly Steamship Company, islesofscilly-travel.co.uk

Gold

Paradise Park and JungleBarn Indoor Play Centre, Hayle, paradisepark.org.uk, @Cornishparadise

Silver

Camel Creek Adventure Park, Wadebridge, camelcreek.co.uk @CamelCreekPark

National Maritime Museum Cornwall, Falmouth, nmmc.co.uk @TheNMMC

Tintagel Castle (English Heritage), Tintagel, english-heritage.org.uk @EnglishHeritage

 

NEW TOURISM BUSINESS AWARD
sponsored by The Samphire Club, thesamphireclub.co.uk

Gold

Cove24 Restaurant and Bar, Newquay, cove24.uk @Cove24nqy

Silver

Scilly Spirit Distillery, Isles of Scilly, scillyspirit.com @scillyspirit

Bronze

Via Ferrata Cornwall, Penryn, viaferratacornwall.co.uk

Commended

Paddle Cornwall SUP, Golant, paddlecornwallsup.co.uk @paddlecornwallsup

St Martin’s Watersports, Isles of Scilly, stmartinswatersports.co.uk @stmartinswaters

The Residence at Bolenna, Perranporth, bolenna.com

 

OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTION TO CORNISH TOURISM
sponsored by Visit Cornwall, visitcornwall.com

Martin Barlow, Budock Vean Hotel, budockvean.co.uk @BudockVeanHotel

 

PUB OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Vickery Holman, vickeryholman.com

Gold

The Pandora Inn, Mylor, pandorainn.com, @PandoraInn

Silver

The Boathouse, Falmouth, theboathousefalmouth.co.uk, @theboathousefal

Bronze

The Gurnard’s Head, Zennor, gurnardshead.co.uk @gurnardshead

Commended

The Old Inn and Restaurant, St Breward, theoldinnandrestaurant.co.uk

 

RESTAURANT & CASUAL DINING OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Trevethan Cornish Gin, trevethandistillery.com

Gold

Bango Kitchen, Penryn, theshellfishpig.co.uk

Silver

Cove24 Restaurant and Bar, Newquay, cove24.uk @Cove24nqy

Bronze

The Idle Rocks Restaurant, St Mawes, idlerocks.com @TheIdleRocks

 

SELF CATERING ACCOMMODATION OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Anytime Booking, anytimebooking.co.uk

Gold

Sara’s Cottage, Truro, sarascottage.co.uk @SarasCottage

Silver

My Cottages in St Ives, St Ives, mycottagesinstives.co.uk @Cottages_StIves

Bronze

Cosawes Barton, Truro, cosawesbarton.co.uk @CosawesBarton

Commended

Pencuke Farm Holiday Cottages and Camping, Bude, pencukefarm.co.uk @PencukeFarm

Retallack Resort & Spa, Padstow, ariaresorts.co.uk @ariaresortsuk

 

SMALL HOTEL OF THE YEAR
sponsored by PKF Francis Clark, pkf-francisclark.co.uk 

Gold

Mullion Cove Hotel & Spa, Mullion, mullion-cove.co.uk @mullioncove

Silver

The PIG at Harlyn Bay, Padstow, thepighotel.com @The_Pig_Hotel

Bronze

The Idle Rocks, St Mawes, idlerocks.com @TheIdleRocks

Commended

The Old Coastguard, Mousehole, oldcoastguardhotel.co.uk @leroundhouse

 

SMALL VISITOR ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Seymac Distribution, seymacdistribution.com

Gold

Shipwreck Treasure Museum, Charlestown, shipwreckcharlestown.co.uk @CtShipwreck

Silver

Feadon Wildlife Centre, Portreath, gwelanmor.com @LandalGwelanMor

 

SPA & WELLBEING EXPERIENCE OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Lovegrove Essentials lovegroveessentials.com

Gold

Landal Gwel an Mor Resort, Portreath, gwelanmor.com @LandalGwelanMor

Silver

St Michaels Resort, Falmouth, stmichaelsresort.com/spa, @stmichaelsresort

Bronze

Mullion Cove Spa, Mullion, mullion-cove.co.uk @mullioncove

 

TOURISM EVENT/FESTIVAL OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Skinners Brewery, skinnersbrewery.com

Gold

Falmouth Oyster Festival 2019, falmouthoysterfestival.co.uk @FalOysterFest

Silver

Wavelength Media’s Drive in Cinema Series 2020, wavelengthmag.com @wavelengthmag

 

TOURISM INNOVATION AWARD
sponsored by Clockwork Marketing clock-work.co.uk

Gold

St Moritz Hotel, Polzeath, stmoritzhotel.co.uk @stmoritzhotel

Silver

Treseren, Newquay, treseren.co.uk @TreserenC

 

UNSUNG HERO AWARD
sponsored by Quality in Tourism, qualityintourism.com

Unsung Heroes

Gary Zammit, Feadon Wildlife Centre, Portreath gwelanmor.com @LandalGwelanMor

Kim Spencer, Wringworthy Cottages, Looe, wringworthy.co.uk @Wringworthy

Patrick Trembath, PK Porthcurno, pkporthcurno.com @PKPorthcurno

Robert Hawkins, Martha’s Orchard, Constantine Bay, marthasorchard.co.uk @MarthasOrchard

Sally Pickles, The Bowgie Inn, Newquay, bowgie.com @BowgieInn

 

VISITOR INFORMATION SERVICE OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Cornwall Association of Tourist Attractions, bestdaysoutcornwall.co.uk

Gold

Visit Newquay Tourist Information Centre, visitnewquay.org @Tourism_Newquay

Silver

Bodmin Information Centre, bodminlive.com

Bronze

Fal River Visitor Information Centre, falriver.co.uk @FalRiver

 

WEDDING VENUE OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Navas Drinks, navasdrinks.com

Gold

Treseren, Newquay, treseren.co.uk @TreserenC

Silver

Landal Gwel an Mor Resort, Portreath, gwelanmor.com @LandalGwelanMor

 

WILDLIFE FRIENDLY TOURISM BUSINESS AWARD
sponsored by Tevi, tevi.co.uk in association with Cornwall Wildlife Trust, cornwallwildlifetrust.org.uk

Gold

The Cornish Seal Sanctuary, Gweek, sealsanctuary.sealifetrust.org, @Seal_Sanctuary

Silver

Mother Ivey’s Bay Holiday Park, Padstow, motheriveysbay.com @MotherIveysBay

Bronze

Ekopod, Launceston, ekopod.co.uk

Commended

Landal Gwel an Mor Resort, Portreath, gwelanmor.com @LandalGwelanMor

PK Porthcurno – Museum of Global Communications, Porthcurno, pkporthcurno.com @PKPorthcurno

St Ives Holiday Village, St Ives, stivesholidayvillage.co.uk @JohnFowlerHols

 

News on a mobile illustration