Celebration Looming for Cornish tourism businesses

By Cornwall Tourism Awards - 13th January 2022

The Finalists have been announced for the 2021/22 Cornwall Tourism Awards with Awards Day at the start of February.

An increased 125 entries were received into the 2021/22 awards, with 66 selected as finalists who must now wait until Awards day on 3 February, when they will learn whether they have won Gold, Silver, Bronze or a Special award. A further 13 receive Commended status.

The 20th year of the competition has seen many tourism businesses beset with ever-changing challenges, but the focus on excellence, innovation and resilience has remained as relevant as ever.

Deborah Heather of headline sponsors Quality in Tourism says: I do love awards season when the Cornwall Tourism sector guarantees to step up to the plate. We at Quality in Tourism as headline sponsors enjoy the innovation and creativity we see and the way the county always leads from the front in terms of responsible practise, but this year especially resilience and adaptability have been key, and we wish everyone all the best.

Malcolm Bell, Head of VisitCornwall, comments: After two very challenging years, it is very exciting and also gratifying to see the dedication of the finalists to drive up quality, despite there being a pandemic with all its twists and turns to cope with – a very big well done to all of you.

Awards organizer Robin Barker of Services for Tourism added“It has been gratifying seeing so many hospitality businesses continuing to excel, despite every challenge thrown at them.  Congratulations to you all.”

For a full list of finalists see below or visit cornwalltourismawards.org.uk

 

2021/2022 CORNWALL TOURISM AWARDS

FINALISTS & COMMENDED (in alphabetic order)

Sponsored by Quality in Tourism, qualityintourism.com  

 

ACCESSIBLE AND INCLUSIVE TOURISM AWARD, sponsored by Access Cornwall, accesscornwall.org.uk

Finalists

· Harrods Cornish Cottages, Penhallow, harrods-cornwall.co.uk

· Mylor Sailing and Powerboat School, Mylor, mylorsailingschool.co.uk, @mylorsailing

· Sara’s Cottage, Truro, sarascottage.co.uk @SarasCottage

Commended

· National Trust Godolphin, Helston, nationaltrust.org.uk/godolphin, @NTgodolphin

· Wetwheels South West, Falmouth, wetwheelsfoundation.org/locations/southwest 

 

B&B AND GUESTHOUSE OF THE YEAR, sponsored by West Country Tea, westcountrytea.co.uk

Finalists

· Chelsea House, Falmouth, Falmouth, chelseahousefalmouth.com

· Coswarth House, Padstow, coswarthhouse.com

 

CAMPING AND CARAVANNING PARK OF THE YEAR, sponsored by Anytime Booking, anytimebooking.co.uk

Finalists

· Treloy Touring Park, Newquay, treloy.co.uk, @treloytouring

· Trevalgan Touring Park, St Ives, trevalgantouringpark.co.uk, @trevalgan

· Trewan Hall, St Columb, trewan-hall.co.uk

Commended

· Willow Valley Holiday Park, Bude, willowvalley.co.uk

 

CASUAL DINING, CAFÉ AND TEAROOM OF THE YEAR, sponsored by NFU Mutual, nfumutual.co.uk/agent-offices/truro

Finalists

· Bango Kitchen, Penryn, theshellfishpig.co.uk, @TheShellfishPig

· Olive & Co, Liskeard, olivecocafe.com, @Olivecocafe

· The Rockpool, Hayle, therockpoolbeachcafe.co.uk

Commended

· Lula, Hayle, lulashack.co.uk

 

DOG FRIENDLY BUSINESS OF THE YEAR, sponsored by Pear Marketing, pearmarketing.co.uk

Finalists

· An Bowji, Newquay, anbowjicornwall.co.uk

· Gwelmor, Bude, gwelmor.com, @gwelmor

· Kilminorth Cottages, Looe, kilminorthcottages.co.uk/offers, @kilminorth

Commended

· Sara’s Cottage, Truro, sarascottage.co.uk, @SarasCottage

 

ETHICAL, RESPONSIBLE & SUSTAINABLE TOURISM AWARD, sponsored by South West Water, southwestwater.co.uk

Finalists

· Little Gwendreath Holiday Cottages, Helston, littlegwendreath.co.uk

· Tregoad Holiday Park, Looe, watersideholidaygroup.co.uk/our-holiday-parks/cornwall/tregoad, @tregoadpark

· Treloy Touring Park, Newquay, treloy.co.uk, @treloytouring

 

EXPERIENCE OF THE YEAR (ACTIVE OR LEARNING), sponsored by Adventures by Bus, adventuresbybus.co.uk

Finalists

· iWalk Cornwall, Tintagel, iwalkcornwall.co.uk, @iwalkc

· Mylor Sailing and Powerboat School, Mylor, mylorsailingschool.co.uk, @mylorsailing

· The Tide Climbing Centre, Wadebridge, tideclimbing.com

Commended

· Bodmin Jail Museum, Bodmin, bodminjail.org, @BodminJail1779

 

GLAMPING BUSINESS OF THE YEAR, sponsored by Touch Stay, touchstay.com/?utm_source=awards&utm_medium=sponsor&utm_campaign=cornwall  

Finalists

· East Thorne – Cornwall, Bude, east-thornecornwall.co.uk, @EastThorne

· Ekopod, Launceston, ekopod.co.uk

· Pengelly Retreat, Hayle, pengellyretreat.co.uk, @ruthie_pengelly

 

HOLIDAY PARK OF THE YEAR, sponsored by Stephens Scown, stephens-scown.co.uk  

Finalists

· Tregoad Holiday Park, Looe, watersideholidaygroup.co.uk/our-holiday-parks/cornwall/tregoad, @tregoadpark

· Trelawne Manor Holiday Park, Looe, trelawnemanor.co.uk, @JohnFowlerHols

 

LARGE HOTEL OF THE YEAR, sponsored by Hotel Perfect, hotelperfect.co.uk   

Finalists

· Carlyon Bay Hotel, St Austell, carlyonbay.com, @CarlyonBayHotel

· St Michaels Resort, Falmouth, stmichaelsresort.com, @StMichaelsHotel

· The Land’s End Hotel, Penzance, landsendhotel.co.uk, @LandsEndHotel

Commended

· Polurrian on the Lizard, Mullion, polurrianhotel.com, @PolurrianHotel

 

LARGE VISITOR ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR, sponsored by Love to Visit, lovetovisit.com

Finalists

· Cornish Seal Sanctuary, Gweek, sealsanctuary.sealifetrust.org, @Seal_Sanctuary

· The Lost Gardens of Heligan, St Austell, heligan.com, @HeliganGardens

· The Minack Theatre, Penzance, minack.com, @minacktheatre

· Tintagel Castle (English Heritage), Tintagel, english-heritage.org.uk/tintagel, @EHTintagel

 

NEW TOURISM BUSINESS AWARD, Sponsored by PayDough.Me, paydough.me

Finalists

· Higher Pendeen Camping, Mawgan Porth, higherpendeencamping.com

· Three Mile Beach, Hayle, threemilebeach.co.uk, @ThreeMileBeach

· Via Ferrata Cornwall, Penryn, viaferratacornwall.co.uk, @CornwallVia

Commended

· Cart Shed Cottage, Truro, cartshedcottage.com

 

OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTION TO CORNISH TOURISM, sponsored by Visit Cornwall, visitcornwall.com  

· To be announced later

 

PUB OF THE YEAR, sponsored by Vickery Holman, vickeryholman.com

Finalists

· The Barley Sheaf Gorran, St Austell, thebarleysheafgorran.co.uk, @TheBarleySheaf2

· The Boathouse, Falmouth, theboathousefalmouth.co.uk, @TheBoathouseFal

· The Peterville Inn, St Agnes, thepetervilleinn.co.uk, @ThePeterville

Commended

· Trengilly Wartha Inn, Falmouth, trengilly.co.uk, @trengilly

 

RESILIENCE AND INNOVATION AWARD, sponsored by Plymouth Business School, plymouth.ac.uk/schools/plymouth-business-school

Finalists

· Mother Ivey’s Bay Holiday Park and Martha’s Orchard, Constantine Bay, motheriveysbay.com & marthasorchard.co.uk, @MotherIveysBay & @MarthasOrchard

· National Lobster Hatchery, Padstow, nationallobsterhatchery.co.uk, @PadstowLobster

· The Minack Theatre, Penzance, minack.com, @minacktheatre

· Trengilly Wartha Inn, Falmouth, trengilly.co.uk, @trengilly

 

RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR, sponsored by The Samphire Club, thesamphireclub.co.uk

Finalists

· Edie’s Kitchen, St Austell, edieskitchen.co.uk, @EdiesKitchen

· Hotel Meudon, Falmouth, meudon.co.uk, @MeudonHotel

· The Idle Rocks Restaurant, St Mawes, idlerocks.com, @TheIdleRocks

 

SELF CATERING ACCOMMODATION OF THE YEAR, sponsored by MiHi Digital, mihidigital.co.uk

Finalists

· Glynn Barton, Bodmin, glynnbarton.co.uk, @glynnbarton

· Old Barn Tregonetha, St Columb, oldbarncornwall.co.uk, @oldbarncornwall

· Sara’s Cottage, Truro, oldbarncornwall.co.uk, @SarasCottage

Commended

· My Cottages in St Ives, St Ives, mycottagesinstives.co.uk, @Cottages_StIves

 

SMALL HOTEL OF THE YEAR, sponsored by pkf Francis Clark, pkf-francisclark.co.uk   

Finalists

· The Idle Rocks, St Mawes, idlerocks.com, @TheIdleRocks

· The Residence at Bolenna, Perranporth, bolenna.com

Commended

· The Rosevine, Truro, rosevine.co.uk, @therosevine

 

SMALL VISITOR ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR, sponsored by Isles of Scilly Steamship Company, islesofscilly-travel.co.uk

Finalists

· Cornwall FootballGolf Park, St Austell, cornwallfootballgolf.co.uk, @Football_Golf

· Museum of Cornish Life, Helston, museumofcornishlife.co.uk, @museumcornishlife

· PK Porthcurno, Porthcurno, pkporthcurno.com, @PKPorthcurno

Commended

· Bodmin Jail Museum, Bodmin, bodminjail.org, @BodminJail1779

 

SPA & WELLBEING EXPERIENCE OF THE YEAR, sponsored by St Austell Print, sapc.co.uk

Finalists

· St Michaels Resort, Falmouth, stmichaelsresort.com/spa, @stmichaelsresort

· Una St Ives, Carbis Bay, unastives.co.uk, @UnaStIves

 

TOURISM EVENT / FESTIVAL OF THE YEAR, sponsored by Cornwall Airport Newquay, cornwallairportnewquay.com

Finalists

· To be announced later

 

UNSUNG HERO AWARD, sponsored by Cornwall Association of Tourist Attractions, bestdaysoutcornwall.co.uk

· Deborah Vosper, Bodmin Keep: Cornwall’s Army Museum, Bodmin, bodminkeep.org, @BodminKeep

· Emma Fashokun, Cornish Gems, St Ives, cornishgems.com, @Cornish_Gems

· Megan Walsingham, Polurrian on the Lizard, Mullion, polurrianhotel.com, @polurrianonthelizard

· Sue Paull, Budock Vean Hotel, Mawnan Smith, budockvean.co.uk, @BudockVeanHotel

· Zillah Zaufal, Bodmin Keep: Cornwall’s Army Museum, Bodmin, bodminkeep.org, @BodminKeep

 

VISITOR INFORMATION SERVICE OF THE YEAR, sponsored by Tregoad Holiday Park, watersideholidaygroup.co.uk/our-holiday-parks/cornwall/tregoad

Finalists

· To be announced later

 

WEDDING VENUE OF THE YEAR, sponsored by Cornwall LIfe, cornwalllifemagazine.co.uk

Finalists

· Boconnoc, Lostwithiel, boconnoc.com, @BoconnocEstate

· Polurrian on the Lizard, Mullion, polurrianhotel.com, @PolurrianHotel

· Treseren, Newquay, treseren.co.uk, @TreserenC

Commended

· Cornish Tipi Weddings, St Kew, cornishtipiweddings.co.uk, @OutsideBride

 

WILDLIFE FRIENDLY TOURISM BUSINESS AWARD, sponsored by Tevi, tevi.co.uk in association with Cornwall Wildlife Trust, cornwallwildlifetrust.org.uk

Finalists

· Bosinver Farm Cottages, St Austell, bosinver.co.uk, @Bosinver

· Mother Ivey’s Bay Holiday Park, Padstow, motheriveysbay.com, @MotherIveysBay

· National Lobster Hatchery, Padstow, nationallobsterhatchery.co.uk, @PadstowLobster

 

WINNER OF WINNERS

· To be announced later

It has been gratifying seeing so many hospitality businesses continuing to excel, despite every challenge thrown at them.

- Robin Barker, Services for Tourism
News on a tablet illustration