Tourism Celebrates its Superstars

By Services for Tourism Ltd - 26th April 2021

76 winners are announced at the 2020/21 South West Tourism Excellence Tourism Awards in emotional online event.

Sponsored by South West Water, the awards programme opened for entry in March 2020 and, with plenty of adaptations and extensions along the way, it concluded on 22 April 2021. In the same way that hospitality businesses have had to change and innovate during this extraordinary period, so too have the awards, with judging taking account of business entries, digital presence and feedback along with evidence of Covid-secure measures, prior to decisions taken by an independent panel.

The awards were presented online on 22 April, with every winner given the chance to react to their award during one of three hour-long sessions. Emotions were running high, with winners ‘over the moon’ at having cause for celebration.

Winners came from Dorset, Somerset, Wiltshire, Gloucestershire, Bristol, Bath, Devon and Cornwall.  Accommodation, food and drink, attractions, events and experiences all had their winners, along with those recognised for innovation, new businesses, sustainable tourism and accessibility. Twenty five winners took the top Gold accolade, including a special Outstanding Contribution award to the members of the Great South West Tourism Partnership, who have dedicated so much of their time over the last year to lobbying for and supporting the industry during the most difficult of times.  There was also a special award for water efficiency, recognised as being of increasing importance both to business operations and the climate.

Jo Ecroyd, Customer Service Director of headline sponsors South West Water, said: “We’re delighted to be headline sponsors of this year’s South West Tourism Awards. As a top FTSE business in the South West, we see it as our responsibility to promote and contribute to the regional economy, in which tourism plays such an important role. It has certainly been a challenging year for businesses, and we applaud all our winners for their perseverance in the face of the challenges from the pandemic over the past year.”

Rob Scarrott, Head of Water Resources and Planning at South West Water said: “Special congratulations to The Sanctuary for winning the Extraordinary Water Efficiency Award at this year’s South West Tourism Awards. The economy and wellbeing of our region is reliant on the environment we live in. That’s why we’re keen to continue our work with the tourism sector to enhance and protect our natural environment and to ensure that the South West is a sustainable and beautiful place to live and visit for many years to come.”

Robin Barker, Director of Services for Tourism Ltd, who manage the Awards, commented: “I feel honoured to have been involved in the awards over the past year and the last decade. Of all the years, this has been the one that has generated the most challenges as well as the most emotions, and we are so gratified to have played our part in giving our outstanding businesses something to celebrate. They are all so deserving! We can’t wait to get out and visit as many of them as possible.”

Co-organiser Nell Barrington added: “I have been really humbled to hear stories from these amazing tourism and hospitality businesses about how they have overcome adversity in these terrible times.  It has been great to be able to celebrate their success today and I hope they have a fantastic season.  Congratulations to them all.

 

2020/2021 SOUTH WEST TOURISM EXCELLENCE AWARDS
WINNERS & COMMENDED (in alphabetic order)
Sponsored by South West Water
southwestwater.co.uk

 

ACCESSIBLE AND INCLUSIVE TOURISM AWARD
sponsored by South West Tourism Alliance
swtourismalliance.org.uk

Gold
Noah's Ark Zoo Farm, Bristol noahsarkzoofarm.co.uk @noahs_ark_zoo

Silver
Sara’s Cottage, Cornwall, sarascottage.co.uk @SarasCottage

Bronze
Leafy Fields Glamping, Devon, leafyfieldsglamping.com @LeafyFields

Commended
HolidayInDorset – Birchcroft, Dorset, birchcroft-hideaway.co.uk
Landal Gwel an Mor Resort, Cornwall, gwelanmor.com @LandalGwelanMor

 

B&B AND GUESTHOUSE OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Lovegrove Essentials
lovegroveessentials.com

Gold
Dorset House, Dorset, dorsethouselyme.com @Dorsethouselyme

Silver
St John’s Guest House, Dorset, stjohnsguesthouse.co.uk @Fishersdream

Commended
Barnabas House B&B, Devon, barnabas-house.co.uk @BarnabasHouse
Brightham House Boutique Bed and Breakfast, Devon, brighthamhouse.co.uk @BrighthamHouse
The Old Stables Bed & Breakfast, Somerset, theoldstablesbandb.com @oldstablesbandb

 

BUSINESS EVENTS & WEDDING VENUE OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Clockwork Marketing
clock-work.co.uk  

Gold
Treseren, Cornwall, treseren.co.uk @treserencornwall

Silver
Paschoe House, Devon, paschoehouse.co.uk @paschoehouse

Bronze
Marsham Court Hotel, Dorset, marshamcourthotel.co.uk @MarshamCourt

Commended
Landal Gwel an Mor Resort, Cornwall, gwelanmor.com @LandalGwelanMor
Upton Country Park, Dorset, uptoncountrypark.com @UptonCPark

 

CAFÉ/TEAROOM OF THE YEAR
sponsored Owens Coffee
owenscoffee.com

Gold
Picnic Park Deli, Dorset, picnicparkdeli.com @picnicparkdeli

Silver
Teacup Tearoom, Cornwall, teacuptearoom.com, @teacup_tearoom

Bronze
Fishcombe Cove Café, Devon, facebook.com/fishcombecovecafe

 

CAMPING AND CARAVANNING PARK OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Vickery Holman
vickeryholman.com

Gold
South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park, Dorset, southlytchettmanor.co.uk, @campsitedorset

Silver
Polmanter Touring Park, Cornwall, polmanter.com @PolmanterStIves

Bronze
Mena Farm: Touring, Camping, Glamping, Cornwall, menafarm.co.uk @MenaFarmCamping

 

CASUAL DINING AWARD
sponsored by Plymouth Business School
plymouth.ac.uk/schools

Gold
The PIG at Combe, Devon, thepighotel.com/at-combe @The_Pig_Hotel

Silver
Cary Arms & Spa, Devon, caryarms.co.uk @CaryArms

Bronze
Fish ‘n’ Fritz, Dorset, fishnfritz.co.uk @fishnfritzweymouth

Commended
Bango Kitchen, Cornwall, theshellfishpig.co.uk
On the Waterfront, Devon, waterfrontexeter.co.uk @OTWexeter

 

DOG FRIENDLY BUSINESS OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Forthglade
forthglade.com

Gold
The Cornish Seal Sanctuary, Cornwall, sealsanctuary.sealifetrust.org, @Seal_Sanctuary

Silver
Bolberry Farm Cottages, Devon, bolberryfarmcottages.co.uk @BolberryFarmCot

Bronze
Kernock Cottages, Cornwall, kernockcottages.com @KernockCottages

Commended
Marsham Court Hotel, Dorset, marshamcourthotel.co.uk @MarshamCourt
Saunton Beach Villas, Devon, sauntonbeachvillas.co.uk @SauntonVillas

 

ETHICAL, RESPONSIBLE & SUSTAINABLE TOURISM AWARD
sponsored by South West Water
southwestwater.co.uk

Gold
The Sanctuary Cornwall, thesanctuarycornwall.co.uk @SanctuaryCornwl

Silver
Camp Kernow, Cornwall, campkernow.org.uk @CampKernow

Bronze
Noah's Ark Zoo Farm, Bristol noahsarkzoofarm.co.uk @noahs_ark_zoo

Commended
Little Comfort Farm, Devon, littlecomfortfarm.co.uk @LittleComfortFm
Mother Ivey’s Bay Holiday Park, Cornwall, motheriveysbay.com @MotherIveysBay
Pause Cat Café, Dorset, pausecatcafe.co.uk @PauseCatCafe 

 

EXPERIENCE OF THE YEAR (ACTIVE OR LEARNING)
sponsored by VisitBath
visitbath.co.uk

Gold
 Jurassic Coast Guides, Dorset, jurassiccoastguides.co.uk @jurassicguides

Silver
Shore Campers – Campervan Hire, Dorset, shorecampers.co.uk @ShoreCampers

Bronze
Savouring Bath, Bath, savouringbath.com @SavouringBath

Commended
Fore / Adventure, Dorset, foreadventure.co.uk @foreadventure
Paradise Park – Red Panda Experience, Cornwall, paradisepark.org.uk @CornishParadise

 

GLAMPING BUSINESS OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Anytime Booking
anytimebooking.co.uk

Gold
Brownscombe Luxury Glamping, Devon, brownscombe.co.uk @BrownscombeUK

Silver
Devon Yurt, Devon, devonyurt.co.uk @devonyurt

Bronze
Ekopod, Cornwall, ekopod.co.uk
Farmstead Glamping, Dorset, farmsteadglamping.com @FarmsteadGlamp

Commended
Dorset Forest Garden Glamping, Dorset, dorsetforestgardenglamping.co.uk
Leafy Field Glamping, Devon, leafyfieldsglamping.com @LeafyFields

 

HOLIDAY PARK OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Stephens Scown solicitors
stephens-scown.co.uk

Gold
 Andrewshayes Holiday Park, Devon, andrewshayes.co.uk @andrewshayesA35

Silver
Landal Gwel an Mor Resort, Cornwall, gwelanmor.com @LandalGwelanMor

Bronze
Ladram Bay Holiday Park, Devon, ladrambay.co.uk @LadramBay

Commended
Lady’s Mile Holiday Park, Devon, ladysmile.co.uk @Ladys_Mile
Martha’s Orchard, Cornwall, marthasorchard.co.uk @MarthasOrchard

 

LARGE HOTEL OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Hotel Perfect
hotelperfect.co.uk

Gold
Carlyon Bay Hotel, Cornwall, carlyonbay.com @CarlyonBayHotel

Silver
Budock Vean Hotel, Cornwall, budockvean.co.uk @BudockVeanHotel

Bronze
The Royal Crescent Hotel and Spa, Bath, royalcrescent.co.uk @royalcrescent

Commended
Fowey Hall Hotel, Cornwall, foweyhallhotel.co.uk @foweyhall
Marsham Court Hotel, Dorset,
marshamcourthotel.co.uk @MarshamCourt

Lucknam Park Hotel & Spa, Wiltshire lucknampark.co.uk @LucknamPark

 

LARGE VISITOR ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Worldpay
fisglobal.com/en-gb/merchant-solutions-worldpay

Gold
Wild Place Project, Bristol, wildplace.org.uk @wild_place

Silver
The Tank Museum, Dorset, tankmuseum.org @TankMuseum

Bronze
Brunel’s SS Great Britain, Bristol ssgreatbritain.org
Noah's Ark Zoo Farm, Bristol noahsarkzoofarm.co.uk @noahs_ark_zoo
Paradise Park and JungleBarn Indoor Play Centre, Cornwall, paradisepark.org.uk, @Cornishparadise

 

NEW TOURISM BUSINESS AWARD
sponsored by Soundview
soundviewmedia.co.uk

Gold
The Roost Luxury Glamping, Glos, theroostglamping.co.uk

Silver
The Hudnalls Hideout Treehouse, Glos, hudnallshideout.co.uk

Bronze
Cross Lane House, Somerset, crosslanehouse.com@CrossLaneHouse
The Cross Keys, Dorset, thecrosskeyssherborne.com @crosskeyssherb

Commended
The Cottages at Blackadon Farm, Devon, cottagesatblackadonfarm.co.uk

 

OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTION TO SOUTH WEST TOURISM
sponsored by Bristol Airport
bristolairport.co.uk

The Great South West Tourism Partnership Group (Spokespeople: Amanda Lumley, VisitPlymouth, and Alistair Handyside, South West Tourism Alliance)

 

PUB OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Plymouth Gin
plymouthgin.com

Gold
The Pandora Inn, Cornwall, pandorainn.com, @PandoraInn

Silver
Three Crowns, Devon, threecrowns-chagford.co.uk @ThreeCrownsChag

Bronze
The Boathouse, Cornwall, theboathousefalmouth.co.uk, @theboathousefal

 

RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR
sponsored by St Austell Brewery
staustellbrewery.co.uk

Gold
Al Molo, Dorset, almolo.co.uk, @AlMoloWeymouth

Silver
The Angel – Taste of Devon, theangeldartmouth.co.uk @theangeldevon

Bronze
Cove24 Restaurant and Bar, Cornwall, cove24.uk @Cove24nqy
Moose Kitchen, Dorset, moosekitchen.co.uk

 

SELF CATERING ACCOMMODATION OF THE YEAR
sponsored by PKF Francis Clark
pkf-francisclark.co.uk  

Gold
Higher Wiscombe, Devon, higherwiscombe.com @HigherWiscombe

Silver
Sara’s Cottage, Cornwall, sarascottage.co.uk @SarasCottage

Bronze
Nethway Farm Holiday Cottages, Devon, nethwayfarm.co.uk

Commended
Lower Campscott Farm Cottages, Devon, lowercampscott.co.uk @LowerCampscott
The Apartment, Bath,apartmentbath.com @apartmentbath_

 

SMALL HOTEL OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Buckleigh Linen Services
buckleigh.co.uk

Gold
Whatley Manor Hotel and Spa, Wiltshire whatleymanor.com @Whatley_Manor

Silver
The Horn of Plenty Country House Hotel & Restaurant, Devon, thehornofplenty.co.uk @hornofplenty1

Bronze
Cary Arms & Spa, Devon, caryarms.co.uk @CaryArms

Commended
Gara Rock Hotel, Devon, gararock.com @gararockhotel
Mullion Cove Hotel & Spa, Cornwall, mullion-cove.co.uk @mullioncove
 The PIG at Harlyn Bay, Cornwall, thepighotel.com @The_Pig_Hotel

 

SMALL VISITOR ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Pear Communications
pearcommunications.org

Gold
Nothe Fort, Dorset, nothefort.org.uk @NotheFort

Silver
Sculpture by the Lakes, Dorset, sculpturebythelakes.co.uk @SculptureLakes

Bronze
Shipwreck Treasure Museum, Cornwall, shipwreckcharlestown.co.uk @CtShipwreck

Commended
Dean Forest Railway, Glos, deanforestrailway.co.uk @DeanForRailway

 

SPA & WELLBEING EXPERIENCE OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Jarrang
jarrang.com

Gold
Landal Gwel an Mor Resort, Cornwall, gwelanmor.com @LandalGwelanMor

Silver
Lucknam Park Hotel & Spa, Wiltshire lucknampark.co.uk @LucknamPark

Bronze
St Michaels Resort, Cornwall, stmichaelsresort.com/spa, @stmichaelsresort
Lincombe Hall Hotel, Devon, lincombehallhotel.co.uk @lincombe_hall

Commended
Mullion Cove Spa, Cornwall, mullion-cove.co.uk @mullioncove

 

TOURISM EVENT/FESTIVAL OF THE YEAR
sponsored by Met Office
metoffice.gov.uk

Gold
White Star Running – Run Jurassic 2019, Dorset, runjurassic.co.uk

Silver
Sculpture by the Lakes – Dorset Arts Festival 2020 sculpturebythelakes.co.uk @SculptureLakes

Bronze
eat:Portishead, Somerset eatfestivals.org @EatFestivals

Commended
Falmouth Oyster Festival 2019, Cornwall, falmouthoysterfestival.co.uk @FalOysterFest

 

TOURISM INNOVATION AWARD
sponsored by Quality in Tourism
qualityintourism.com

Gold
Quince Honey Farm, Devon, quincehoneyfarm.co.uk @quincehoneyfarm

Silver
St Moritz Hotel, Cornwall, stmoritzhotel.co.uk @stmoritzhotel

Bronze
Savouring Bath, Bath, savouringbath.com @SavouringBath

Commended
The Grange at Oborne, Dorset, thegrangeatoborne.co.uk, @grangeatoborne

 

VISITOR INFORMATION SERVICE OF THE YEAR
in association with South West Coast Path Association
southwestcoastpath.org.uk

Gold
Lynmouth Pavilion Exmoor National Park Centre, Devon, exmoor-nationalpark.gov.uk @ExmoorNP

Silver
South Somerset Visitor Information Centre / South Somerset District Council, Somerset visitsouthsomerset.com @VisitSSomerset

Bronze
Visit Newquay Tourist Information Centre, Cornwall, visitnewquay.org @Tourism_Newquay

 

WATER CONSERVATION AWARD
sponsored by South West Water
southwestwater.co.uk

The Sanctuary Cornwall, thesanctuarycornwall.co.uk @SanctuaryCornwl

 

 

 

 

News on a tablet illustration